Sarcophagus of the Muses

                                                                                                                                                  representing the nine Muses and their attributes. Marble, first half of the 2nd century AD; found by the Via Ostiense. Louvre.


From left to right: Calliope, who holds a scroll; Thalia, holding a comic mask; Terpsichore, Muse of dance; Euterpe, holds a double flute; Polymnia, leans on a rock; Clio, has a writing-tablet; Erato, holds a cithara; Urania, muse of astronomy, is shown with a globe at her feet; and Melpomene, wears a tragic mask.


Calliope, the Muse of epic poetry
Thalia, the Muse of comedy
Terpsichore, the Muse of dance
Euterpe, the Muse of music
Polyhymnia, the Muse of hymns
Clio, the Muse of history
Erato, the Muse of love poetry
Urania/Ourania, the Muse of astronomy
Melpomene, the Muse of tragedy